Nene Trust Banner


Sywell CE Primary School Governance Committee

Peterborough Diocese Education Trust recognises that, in order to help achieve its vision, it needs the support of local governors. The Trust's vision is “Working together for each child to realise their God given potential to flourish”. This dovetails with the Church of England Vision for Education which is, ‘deeply Christian’ with the promise by Jesus of ‘life in all its fullness’ enabled by excellent education. Therefore, each PDET school has a local Academy Governance Committee (AGC).

Local governors serve in order to:

  • focus on the areas where value can be added in terms of helping the academy to set and ‘live out’ its vision and values, utilising knowledge and understanding of the local community;
  • develop supportive relationships with the community and church;
  • be the eyes and ears for the Board in assuring compliance with the law and policies; and
  • be a ‘sounding board’ and provide support to the headteacher and the whole academy community.

Details of PDET's Governance Structure may be found here.

Having become part of PDET, Sywell's governors are in the process of forming an AGC and details regarding its constitution and governor roles will be published here when finalised. Meanwhile Sywell's governors are as listed below. 

Governors may be contacted via the school or by emailing  

Governing Body Information 
Current Governors  
Craig Charteris  Community Governor / Chair
Teresa Allcock Community Governor
Revd Katrina Hutchins Foundation Governor
Vacancy Foundation Governor
Jo Shortland Headteacher
Hannah Longland Staff Governor
Dharmesh Rana  Parent Governor / Vice Chair
Kym Wright  Parent Governor

Previous serving Governors:



Start Date*

End Date

Darren Parnell

Chair of Governors

1st March 2021

31st July 2021

Alice Rock

Vice-Chair of Governors

1st March 2021

6th May 2021

Chris Rockall

Parent Governor 1st March 2021 31st October 2021
David Johnson Community Governor/Chair of Governors 1st March 2021 29th November 2022
Neil Botterill Foundation Governor 1st March 2021 24th January 2023

 *Date of conversion and creation of new AGC



Governance Data Files

Upcoming Events

No events found