Our Governors

Sywell CEVA Primary Governing Body

Governing bodies are responsible for the strategic management of their school, working to ensure that it delivers a good quality education. Together with the head teacher, who is responsible for day-to-day management, they set the school's aims and policies.

They also carry out a number of other important duties, including:

  • Managing the school's budget
  • The appointing and dismissing of staff
  • Making decisions around exclusions
  • Forming policy on the school's curriculum
  • Setting standards for pupils' behaviour and discipline
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe
  • Setting and monitoring the school's aims and policies  


All governors are appointed for a 4 year term. Local Authority Governors are appointed by the Local Authority (Northamptonshire County Council).  Parent and Staff Governors are appointed by the Governing body following an election.  Foundation governors are appointed by the Peterborough Diocese.

Details of our Governing Body can be found below. 

Governing Body Information

Current Governors

Darren Parnell              Local Authority Governor (Chair)

Kristel Murphy             Head Teacher

(Vacancy)        Foundation Governor

Revd Katrina Hutchins        Foundation Governor

(Vacancy)                Foundation Governor

Neil Botterill               Foundation Governor

(Vacancy)       Foundation Governor

Alice Rock               Foundation Governor (Vice Chair)       

David Johnson           Parent Governor

Chris Rockall               Parent Governor

Jo Shortland              Staff Governor